Fernando Pessoa, Knjiga nemira, 139.

by Vertebrata

 

Već dugo ne pišem. Prošli su mjeseci kako ne živim, samo trajem između ureda i fiziologije, u nekoj dubokoj zaustavljenosti misli i osjećaja. Nažalost, to me ne umiruje: u truljenju postoji fermentacija.

Već dugo ne samo da ne pišem, nego čak i ne postojim. Jedva da sanjam. Ulice su za mene ulice. Obavljam posao u uredu tek s onoliko svijesti koliko je za to potrebno, ali ne bih točno rekao da kažem bez rastresenosti: iza toga, jesam, umjesto da razmišljam, spavam, jer uvijek sam drugi iza obavljanja posla.

Već dugo ne postojim. Vrlo sam smiren. Nitko me ne odvaja od onoga koji jesam. Osjetih sada da dišem kao da sam napravio nešto novo, ili zakašnjelo. Počinjem postajati svjestan da sam svjestan. Možda se sutra probudim za sebe, i ponovno proslijedim svojim vlastitim postojanjem. Ne znam hoću li tada biti više ili manje sretan. Ništa ne znam. Podižem glavu i ugledam kao se, na padini Utvrde, naspram nje, na desecima prozora rasplamsava zalaz sunca u visokom odsjaju hladne vatre. Oko tih očiju jarkog plamena padina postaje blaga na kraju dana. Mogu barem osjetiti tugu, i pojmiti kako se s ovom mojom tugom sada susreo, viđen sluhom, iznenadni zvuk tramvaja što prolazi, slučajni glas mladih sugovornika, zaboravljeni žamor staroga grada.

Već dugo nisam ja.

 

§

 

For a long time now I haven’t written. Months have gone by in which I haven’t lived, just endured, between the office and physiology, in an inward stagnation of thinking and feeling. Unfortunately, this isn’t even restful, since in rotting there’s fermentation.

For a long time now I haven’t written and haven’t even existed. I hardly even seem to be dreaming. The streets for me are just streets. I do my office work conscious only of it, though I can’t say without distraction: in the back of my mind I’m sleeping instead of meditating (which is what I usually do), but I still have a different existence behind my work.

For a long time now I haven’t existed. I’m utterly calm. No one distinguishes me from who I am. I just felt myself breathe as if I’d done something new, or done it late. I’m beginning to be conscious of being conscious. Perhaps tomorrow I’ll wake up to myself and resume the course of my own existence. I don’t know if that will make me more happy or less. I don’t know anything. I lift my pedestrian’s head and see that, on the hill of the Castle, the sunset’s reflection is burning in dozens of windows, in a lofty brilliance of cold fire. Around these hard-flamed eyes, the entire hillside has the softness of day’s end. I’m able at least to feel sad, and to be conscious that my sadness was just now crossed – I saw it with my ears – by the sudden sound of a passing tram, by the casual voices of young people, and by the forgotten murmur of the living city.

For a long time now I haven’t been I.

 

§

 

Há muito tempo que não escrevo. Têm passado meses sem que viva, e vou durando, entre o escritório e a fisiologia, numa estagnação íntima de pensar e de sentir. Isto, infelizmente, não repousa: no apodrecimento há fermentação.

Há muito tempo que não só não escrevo, mas nem sequer existo. Creio que mal sonho. As ruas são ruas para mim. Faço o trabalho do escritório com consciência só para ele, mas não direi bem sem me distrair: por detrás estou, em vez de meditando, dormindo, porém estou sempre outro por detrás do trabalho.

Há muito tempo que não existo. Estou sossegadíssimo. Ninguém me distingue de quem sou. Senti-me agora respirar como se houvesse praticado uma coisa nova, ou atrasada. Começo a ter consciência de ter consciência. Talvez amanhã desperte para mim mesmo, e reate o curso da minha existência própria. Não sei se, com isso, serei mais feliz ou menos. Não sei nada. Ergo a cabeça de passeante e vejo que, sobre a encosta do Castelo, o poente oposto arde em dezenas de janelas, num revérbero alto de fogo frio. À roda desses olhos de chama dura toda a encosta é suave do fim do dia. Posso ao menos sentir-me triste, e ter a consciência de que, com esta minha tristeza, se cruzou agora – visto com ouvido – o som súbito do eléctrico que passa, a voz casual dos conversadores jovens, o sussurro esquecido da cidade viva. 

Há muito tempo que não sou eu.

 

 

Fernando Pessoa, 139.   Knjiga nemira  /  The Book of Disquiet /  Livro do Desassossego